Erin Zureick

Education, politics and observations from Sanford

Wedding bells are ringing…also known as I am getting old

Sanford Herald photographer Ashley Garner and I were talking the other day about how it seems like everywhere we turn people are getting married or engaged. I’m 23 years old and Ashley is 24, so maybe this is just the “first wave.”

I’m in my first “real” job working at The Herald, and sometimes when I look around my sparsely decorated apartment, it still feels like I am back in my college days at UNC. I’m a domestically inclined person who likes baking, babies and all sorts of “family” activities, though marriage still seems lightyears away — probably because I am single and still focusing on my career.

Congrats to my cousin, Amy, and her soon-to-be husband!

Congrats to my cousin, Amy, and her soon-to-be husband!

This week has really hit home to me that people are growing up and changing, though. A college friend who has been engaged to her boyfriend of seven years sent out her wedding invitations for her October nuptials this week.

I’ll also be heading home to Ohio this weekend for a cousin’s wedding. My cousin, Amy, is the same age as me. We’ve gone through a lot of significant life milemarkers at the same time, such as high school and college graduations. I’ll come prepared for the inevitable, “When’s it going to be you?” questions from my aunts, though to be honest, I have no idea.

But for now, I plan to enjoy the party and keep wishing all of my friends well. Here’s to many years of health and happiness!

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | Sanford | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I know just what you mean, Erin. Although I’m still two years away from graduation, it seems like everyone’s engaged or on the brink. And I’m also uber-domestic, but I’ll focus on feeding (and babying) myself for now.

    We still have quite a bit of time, too 🙂

    Comment by Meghan | July 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

